It’s Time

*** I’m revisiting this blog after a four or five year absence. Just posting some things I started, but never finished. I’ve finished them now. 😊 “I haven’t see you in forever,” is a comment I’ve heard no less than a million times in the last year and a half.  I’ve not disappeared, and I’ve not moved to another country.  What I have been doing is working diligently on getting my Master of Arts in Teaching degree from Tusculum College, so that I may pursue a career in education.  Look, I have proof…

amandaThat’s me on the left.  Sixteen months older, wiser, and much more tired.  I’m thrilled that I had this experience.  I made lifelong friends during this journey.  Vicki is in the middle, and Charity is on the far right.  These girls were my crew during my time back into the college world, as a 40-something year old woman. What a true blessing they were (and still are). My, my how different college is the second time around!  No longer the girl who chose to take a month-long sabbatical from music appreciation because I could no longer stand to listen to even just ONE MORE classical music piece. I’m now the student who approached the teacher immediately to find out just exactly why my grade was a 99 instead of a 100. I graduated with honors, and I worked my hiney off to get there.

Probably my three proudest moments in life- having children, surviving and growing through the loss of my father, and not crumbling to piece after a failed marriage; but rather, going back to school for my teaching certification and master’s degree when life forced me to choose plan B. It’s gonna be a good life. God has a purpose for all of this. I’m eager to live it. Live yours to, friend.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Doug Gray
    Aug 27, 2016 @ 09:25:24

    Congratulations! You are a fine writer and have done your folks proud, as we say. Arthur Clair would be pleased! (He would pop my shoulder good for calling him that in H.S.). Keep reading, writing, and learning.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

