Just below

The memory lies just below the surface.

If I looked closely enough I could see it, but I choose not to see.

Too much, too soon, too painful.

I know the day will come, but please God, tell me it doesn’t have to be today.

I miss you like I’ve never known missing.

Unbelievable void through which nothingness continues to blow.

Someday I will decide to see it, but that day is not today.

I remember your voice, your face, your laugh.

I remember the you that I knew for a lifetime.

I know you are in a place of peace.

I hope to be within me someday as well.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Carolynn Elder
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 22:52:27

    Painfully beautiful…

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

