Gentle Passage

I am realizing to some it may seem odd that I am up typing on the night that my father left this earth.  To me it is as natural as anything because expressing emotion through words has always been such an integral part of my life.

The most amazing event has occurred today.  At 8 p.m. on Tuesday, January 4 my father left this realm and found himself starring directly into the face of Jesus.  Today began like any other day and we all found ourselves excited at the prospect of a hospital bed being delivered to the home of my parents.  This bed, we had hoped, would provide him with a new level of comfort and that all along has been our primary goal for him.  Dad always wanted to be at home.  This is where he stayed.  Some people didn’t quite understand, that’s okay.  In the last year I have seen my mother invisibly put on a “superwoman” cape and do whatever necessary to see to it that my dad remained at home through his illness and tend to his every need.

Today, my dad decided- along with the Lord- that it was time for him to quit fighting.  There was no struggle.  We were enveloped by a circle of precious friends and we prayed and sang and talked to this man until he took his final breath.  It was peaceful.  God sent an angel named Jennah, our hospice nurse, to our home and she talked us through the start of the process.  We were told that we might have a few hours… a few days at the most, but the Lord’s timing took over.  My father was not in pain.  We feel truly blessed to have been a part of his process, his life, and the way it ended.

I can’t express in words adequately what it feels like to see the man who was your superman for all of your life looking so helpless and so weak.  I had privately prayed for weeks that the Lord’s will would be done and be done swiftly.  I defy anyone to tell me that God doesn’t answer prayer.

Today I’ve had two different things running through my head.  The first is the song “It is well with my soul”.  Friends, it truly is.  When you have the assurance that your loved one is a believer in Christ and you have no doubt whatsoever about his outcome, it covers you with the most amazing and unearthly peace.  We all knew where Tripp would be going.  No doubt about it.  How could we help but rejoice in his passing?  No more sickness.  No more confusion.  Only perfectly and miraculously ordained perfection.

As Jess and I were praying privately at his bedside I kept having two words swim through my mind…. “gentle passage”.  That is what we prayed for and that is exactly what we received.  We are so sad for what we have lost, but we are so REJOICING for what we know he has gained.  The Lord never failed us.  He never left us.  We continually felt completely covered by His blood and His grace.

Prayers continued for what felt like hours through his passing.  Mom prayed.  Jess prayed.  When he died, I said to the Lord that we claim victory in His name and rejoice that this servant of the Lord was now standing before Him.  The words kept repeating, “Thank you, Jesus…. thank you, Jesus… thank you, Jesus.” 

We truly are blessed.  What an honor to be able to call myself the daughter of such a Godly man.  My dad loved the Lord.  His very purpose in life was to lead other to Christ.  This was job he fulfilled unashamedly.  I have learned so much from this man.  I hope to be even just a glimmer of the example of Christ that he was.  So, although death comes with sadness we know that it is trumpeted by a jubilant sounding of GLORY TO GOD IN THE HIGHEST.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dee
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 02:42:33

    And “blessed be the name of the Lord.” What a magnificent gift– a gentle passage. Would that we all be granted a “gentle passage” into His presence and His kingdgom. In the love and embrace of Christ, Dee

    Like

    Reply

  2. Joline
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 06:33:43

    Aw, Amanda. That brought tears to my eyes. I am so glad that your Dad is at peace and that you all found peace in his passing. That is what we all prayed for…peace, no pain, and to rejoice in the memories that you had with him. I am so sorry for your loss, but as I have heard someone say to me when one of my relatives pass on…”I am sorry for your loss, but it is Heaven’s gain!”. Amen.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Raelene Plummer
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 07:34:26

    Amanda. I am so pleased to hear your thoughts and how the Lord was glorified in your life. Losing your Dad is tough but when my Dad graduated to heaven there was such peace and no struggle. Thank you for sharing your heart and know you and your Mom and Jess will continue to be in our prayers. Glory to the Father. Praise his name.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Sara Harakas
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 07:58:34

    Amanda, I am so sorry for your loss. I loved Tripp very much. He was such a kind and gentle soul. I am been praying for you all. I rejoice with you that he is standing in the presence of Jesus. I know that he is with my Honey today too. I love you and will be there this weekend.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Sherry Lawson
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 08:29:11

    oh, Amanda, I am so hurting for you and your family. I have no idea how it feels, but I can imagine…I will continue to pray for you and yours all thru the coming year…we loved Tripp so much. He was a definite man of God. If only I could have half the demeanor he did…we love you all.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Kristy Carr
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 08:47:54

    Thank you for sharing this, Amanda. I’m so thankful that your dad experienced a “gentle passage.” I am continuing to pray for you, your mom, and Jess.

    Like

    Reply

  7. Aundria Carlton
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 09:14:07

    GOD’s grace and mercy is truly amazing. Your dad was a special man and has left his touch on many lives. Thank you for expressing, so beautifully, you feelings. That is a real gift.

    Like

    Reply

  8. pat lenzini
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 09:57:54

    Thank-You for sharing your heart we love and care deeply for you and family. Tripp knows exactly where he is now!!

    Like

    Reply

  9. Tony Cradic
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 13:14:39

    As you know, I’m a little behind on the news of your dad. I was listening to iPod music at my desk yesterday when the song Go Rest High on That Mountain done by Vince Gill started playing from a random list of over 400 songs. The tears flowed in a joyous celebration…

    Your dad is a special man. One that touched everyone he came in contact with in a profound yet subtle way. When I think of other people I know I would do well to model my life after…Tripp Elder is on that list. I mean that from the bottom of my heart.

    I regret I didn’t take time to come see him before God called him home. I look forward to seeing him again though in the absolute best of eternal situations. I truly appreciate the model of grace and peace you have been during this difficult time…and I know he would too. Much love to you and your family.

    Like

    Reply

  10. Brenda Becker
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 14:45:54

    Amanda and family, I can not believe a year has passed since we were reunited in friendship after so many years….. God is good and God is good all the time. I again say, what an honor to know your father, Tripp, mother, and you…to grow over the past year in new directions with HIM. Thank you for all your many prayers and love shown over the time – may God always bless you with the truth’s of HIM and with your DAD’s wishes with the love for Christ be carried through each generation til HIS COMING AGAIN. May the MISSIONS for our Lord Jesus continue forward and the lessons of each of our generations be passed on with the lights shining bright for HIM — that all will come to know HIM or become closer to HIM. May His Will be done and we lift up to HIM with praises and the time of His coming . AMEN

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

