I Don’t Hardly Love It

Let me explain something… if you’re not from the South then there are aspects of our dialect that you will never understand.  People live “over yonder” and go “up Alice’s house” to eat dinner.  We talk to “ya’ll”- singular OR plural and if “ya’ll” ever become a group, then it’s “you’uns”.  We love “taters” and “maters” and don’t even get me started on the importance of sweet tea.   

I have a friend who one night rolled the funniest phrase right off of her Southern little lips that I had ever heard.  My sister and I were attending our monthly Bunco group- possibly another Southern staple- when little Jaclyn uttered these words when telling a story- “I don’t hardly love….”  This phrase was instantly adopted into the vocabulary shared by my sister and myself.  It’s amazing how many times you can work this phrase into your daily conversation.  “Don’t hardly love” is just a sweeter, Southern way of saying “dislike”.  Let me share some examples:

I don’t hardly love when I go through the drive through at McDonald’s and they mess up my order.

I don’t hardly love when my children wake me up at 7 a.m. on a Saturday.

I don’t hardly love when rednecks with no muffler on their truck drive down Main Street at 11 p.m.

This list could go on and on because there are many things at this time in life that I don’t hardly love.  However, I DO hardly love being a Southern gal and living in a place where maters, taters, and sweet tea seem to make the world go round.  Let me encourage you to try on this phrase for a week and just see if it doesn’t bring a smile to your face.  🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Pat Lenzini
    Jun 26, 2010 @ 22:33:59

    It already has brought a smile that is!! Love some southern talk.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

