When Hope Is Fading

Last Christmas my mother gave me a ring.  It is a simple, sterling silver band with one word etched into it… “HOPE”.  Since the day I received the ring it has become one of my most prized possessions.

“Hope” is a word which has developed great significance to me in the last year.  Hebrews 11:1 says,  Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.”  Faith and hope are two words which have become intertwined for me.  I personally believe that in order to have one you must have the other.  I can have hope that I’ll win the lottery, but without faith it is meaningless.  Hope and faith must go hand in hand in order to achieve hope’s full potential.

When my mother presented me with my ring she quietly whispered, “Wear it for dad.”  I do.  I will never take it off.  I refuse to have faith in anything less.  This ring has developed new significance for me, though.  Hope is something I am clinging to for all aspects of my life.  I hope for a number of things in my life at this time.  Some easy to talk about.  Some not so much.  I do know beyond a doubt that I am on this planet serving a God Who is in the business of all things hopeful.  Without hope what do we have?

I have a dear friend Kelli who likes to remind me that “hope floats”.  I’ve told her that MY hope not only floats, but also does back flips and belly flops.  When things in life seem too much to bear my hope goes into overdrive.  If I serve a God Who can do anything why would I expect anything less?  I don’t.  Sure, having hope can be a risky thing.  You can be disappointed.  As Christians we are not guaranteed the fulfillment of each and everything for which we hope, but in everything that I read in Scripture it surely does tell you how to get there.  “Study to show thyself approved….”  “The effective, fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much…”  There comes a great responsibility with having hope.  You must be diligently working toward becoming the person God intends you to be in order to reap the reward of your hope.  I want to be that person.

I spent the afternoon with my girlfriends today.  We, and our gaggle of children, spent the day swimming at a friend’s pool.  As I was laying out and listening to all of the laughter in the background, I began to stare at my ring.  I spun it around on my finger several times (as I often do as a little reminder) and noticed something.  The dark markings in my word “hope” have begun to fade, just a bit.  The tiniest portion of my “H” is beginning to vanish.  It was in this moment that I felt a tiny tinge of sadness.  I don’t want this ring to change.  I don’t want my hope to disappear.  Just then things took on a very literal meaning for me.  There is nothing that is going to lessen my hope.  No amount of enviroment or chlorine or wear and tear is going to diminish for one second the hope that I have inside of me.  Life is hard.  We were never promised that it wouldn’t be.  We have to cling to that which we know is permanent.  For me that is the strength and the promise that I have received from my Lord.  Am I always going to get the answers that I want?… not necessarily.  However, I firmly stand on the knowledge that if what I want is in direct proportion to the will of the Lord for my life then it shall be done.

There is amazing comfort in that thought.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mom
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 06:11:01

    This is wonderful. One of my favs. Some of the sentences are so expressive. Love the bellyflops statement. And “Faith and hope must go hand in hand in order to achieve hope’s full potential.” Sounds like C. S. Lewis.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Raelene Plummer
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 09:01:32

    So eloquently said and only with the Lords strength can you accomplish having faith and hope as you wait on Him. He is in charge and I am so thankful for that.

    Like

    Reply

  3. openda
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 05:15:11

    Just to let you know, I have enjoyed reading this and i have learned one or two things.Thanks for the post!
    Hope+Faith=way to go!.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Your Sister
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 09:35:34

    We should all print this out and put it on our fridge! I love this!

    Like

    Reply

  5. Sherry Lawson
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 21:11:50

    Its hard to believe that after 2 years, I still have hope…and you know what about…Its awesome, cause when my hope grows dim, God will do something totally awesome to remind me to hang on….
    Enjoyed reading this…

    Like

    Reply

  6. mandaclair
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 21:14:51

    Sherry, you are an inspiration and I know that you’ve had many challenges in the past few years. What a testament you are to the restorative powers of God. I love you. I miss you. I admire you so much.

    Like

    Reply

  7. Trackback: When Hope Is Fading | Manda's Wonderland

Leave a Reply

