The Plate

There is an analogy which I’ve adopted into my vocabulary when attempting to describe my life.  I wake up each day as a woman and deal with the plate which is set before me.  Some days my plate seems full and other days it seems lacking.  Some days I love what is on the menu and other days I would much rather just pass.  I’m learning that the more my life progresses the more I begin to learn about my plate.

First, I have learned that my plate is a different plate than the one “the world” would use.   The people eating from the plates of the world are typically fed  by ultimate financial success, immediate gratification, and that which is popular.  As a Christian my plate must be vastly different.  It has to be prepared.  My plate must be one which is crafted with patience and faith.  This isn’t always the easiest and quickest way to feel fed, but the only way (I truly believe) to achieve ultimate satisfaction.  Jeremiah 29:11 says, “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Second, I have learned that my plate is in transition.  What I have set before me today may not be what I find on it tomorrow.  This can be an unsettling thought.  Life changes.  People, places, and times come and go.  However, if we know we are seated at the proper table and eating from the proper plate, then we have to trust that our Master, our Host, is providing us with everything we need for our complete nourishment.

Third, I have learned that my plate requires great care and attention.  It must be treated with respect whether I enjoy what is set before me or not.  I can’t sit to eat from it and decide that I don’t like what’s on it and walk away.  How would my Host feel?  I must come to an awareness that each course is put on my plate for a reason.  I must cover it in thanksgiving each day and realize how blessed I am to have even been given a seat here.  My plate may be ever-changing, but my dedication to the Host is not.  I invite any of you who would like to pull up a chair and join me at the table of the King.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Pat Lenzini
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 17:56:28

    I’m there with my bib on I tend to be a little messy now and then, Amanda you are precious I wish we lived close by so I could fellowship and get to know you and be by my friend forever Carolina! Love You Pat

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

