Make Yourself Available to Him

***I posted this note tonight on the wall of a prayer group for a sweet friend of mine who is in the hospital fighting for her life.  When Kelley Johnagin is completely healed by the hand of God I fully intend to print this off and give it to her.  Throughout this horrible situation with her God has swept over her friends and family like a quiet wind.  I am honored to get to witness this magnificent event.***
 
Friends, I am going to try to keep this brief (those of you who know me personally are chuckling at this point!), but I just have something I want to share.

First, I hope it has been made abundantly clear from the inception of this prayer group for Kelley that every square inch of this has been done to provide information about her progress, to provide friends/family a “place” to come and share words of encouragement and lift up prayers, and most importantly to be obedient to God and His Word. I believe this sums it up best:

“The Bible tells us clearly that we are one spirit with the Lord. “But he that is joined unto the Lord is one spirit” (1 Cor. 6:17). We also know from Romans 8:16 that the Holy Spirit is with our spirit. “The Spirit Himself bears witness with our spirit, that we are the children of God.” Paul even says that the Lord Jesus Himself is with our spirit. “The Lord Jesus Christ be with thy spirit” (2 Tim. 4:22). Therefore, we have found in our experience that we need to have our spirit released so that the Lord Jesus and the Holy Spirit might also be released in our meetings. To us this is not something to be mocked, neither is it a doctrine that we hold. It is simply a practice we enjoy.

There are numerous references in the Psalms where the writer cries out, “O Lord!” One of these references is Psalm 130:1: “Out of the depths have I cried unto thee, O Lord.” We have found that to call on the name of the Lord is not only scriptural, but also quite effective in contacting the Lord.”

– from contendingforthefaith.com

I did not personally do anything extraordinary by starting this group. Any one of you could start a group on Facebook. Just a few clicks and you’re done. What HAS BECOME extraordinary about this group is that the Lord Himself has washed His love and His healing through it and Christians from far and wide are being drawn here to pray and to be encouraged. How could anyone doubt the unending powers of Christ after experiencing even a fraction of something like this? ALL GLORY and appreciation for this group should be directed right up to the one Who is in charge of it all. To use a quote from one of my dearest friends, I was merely a vessel.

This leads me to my last point and a wonderful testimony which I feel bears repeating.

Wednesday night my friend, Kelli Welborn, and I went to Kingsport to have dinner and to go to the hospital in the hopes of getting to see Kelley or at the very least to get an update. When we arrived friends and family were in the waiting area and filled us in on all of the up-to-date information.

As we were about to leave I asked the family/friends if it would be okay if we prayed for Kelley before we left. They were very sweet and agreed and almost as if it had been coordinated, everyone stood up in a circle and joined hands. Well, we just began to pray. It wasn’t anything flowery or well-rehearsed, it was just honest words and requests being lifted up to God the Father. (I would like to interject here that you must never be afraid of prayer. Just talk to God as if He was standing in the room with you and speak with Him as if you were speaking to your best friend. God just wants you to talk to Him, he doesn’t have a script which needs to be followed. Come to Him as a child would- humble and honest.) The prayer was a specific request of what we would like for God to do- healing specific parts of Kelley and calling them by name. Asking for peace and strength for her. Remember, we are instructed to CLAIM what it is that we want. We are to come BOLDLY before His throne. Don’t be scared to share with HIM the desires of your heart. He tells us to do this.

When the prayer was finished we all wiped our eyes and noses and Kelli and I began walking down the hall. We hadn’t gotten 20 feet from the waiting room when she turned around and said, “Wait, he wants us.” I looked at her with a confused face and turned around to see an older man following us down the corridor. I was a bit baffled since I didn’t hear him call out to us and I wasn’t sure how she was even aware of his presence. The gentleman came to us and said, “Ladies, what church are you from?” Kelli and I both smiled and told him that we were actually between churches right now (long story), but that we were Christians and firm believers in the power of prayer. This sweet old man looked right at us and said, “I attend a Holy Ghost-filled church. Your spirits have spoken to mine and I have a favor to ask.” The favor that our new friend Dwight asked of us that night was if we would come into the room of his elderly mother-in-law in ICU and pray for her. Kelli and I were both so overwhelmed with God’s grace in that moment that it almost felt like we needed to catch our balance. We, of course, immediately agreed and he walked us back into the room.

Inside that room was a precious, frail, old woman who had recently had a stroke. Dwight introduced us to the family in the room saying, “I saw these girls praying in the waiting room and I want them to pray for mom.” Well, friends, we did just that. We talked to sweet little Betty Ann and told her God loved her and then we prayed for her healing. I don’t even know the exact words which were spoken in that room that night because the Lord had taken over so completely.

Kelli and I said our goodbyes and walked out of that room changed women. For those of you who have truly been touched by the Holy Spirit, you will know exactly what I mean. For those of you who have not yet experienced this REAL LIFE manifestation of the Holy Spirit, just pray that you will. Because once you’ve had even a small taste of it you’ll realize that there’s nothing like it.

I say all of this to say- there is nothing special about who we are that makes us any more or less “worthy” of having such an experience with the Holy Spirit. It is, in fact, GOD IN US which makes us worthy to be in His presence as we were that night. Christians, make yourself available to Him. He will use you, and it’s like nothing that you’ve ever experienced- otherworldly, really. You must let the Lord know that you are willing and able. I encourage each of us to do this everyday and to see what a firestorm of spiritual revival would sweep this country- this world.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    Feb 20, 2010 @ 16:09:36

    Amen, Sister!!! Wow. I’m so glad you and Kelli shared this experience. How amazing it is when God uses you and you don’t even know it! It truly goes to show that if we do what He asks us to do, He will TOTALLY

    Like

    Reply

  2. Jessica
    Feb 20, 2010 @ 16:12:47

    take care of the rest. I said to the girls today, “Girls, don’t worry about what each other is doing, just do what I’ve asked you to do.” Hmmm…a word for my girls, or a word for me??? Sorry – tangent! Anyway, this was beautifully written, as always. Now let me say this: “briefly”? seriously?…seriously.Ha! I love you!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Brenda Curtis Becker
    Feb 20, 2010 @ 21:50:00

    Praise God to the highest for this Blessing and movement of the Holy Spirit in these young ladies lives… the touch that all around received and of answers from the Lord…Our prayer always. AMEN

    Like

    Reply

  4. Stacey Olmstead
    Feb 20, 2010 @ 21:56:32

    Amanda,
    This testimony of the Holy Spirit is humbling! What a mighty, all knowing, unshakeable,infalable,compasionate,remarkable,awesome God we serve!!!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

