Do Ya Think Beth Moore Ever Accidentally Says $#!+?

For as long as I can remember I’ve had a dream.  Some little girls dream of becoming a ballerina.  Some dream of becoming an actress or model.  All I’ve ever wanted to do was to become a wife, a mother…. oh, and I’ve always wanted to write a book.  I tossed the idea around in my head for most of my childhood and youth, but never really thought that it would amount to a life-long ambition as it has.

Writing poetry used to be a way for me to vent feelings and frustrations.  In college my “creative writing” class just further perpetuated my burning desire to write.  Then after several years of continuing to sit on the idea out of fear, basically, I’ve decided that it’s time to give this a serious look.

I’ve been blogging for some time and hoping to grow my library of reference material from which to draw.  Deciding that you’d like to write is one thing, but deciding WHAT to write is a whole different story (no pun intended).  Looking back on the majority of my writings it’s obvious that I most like to write about real-life happenings.  Generally, these are my personal real-life happenings.  In my 39 (almost 40) years of life Lord knows I’ve gained enough experience and trudged through enough mud to have an unending supply of stories from which I could share.

I’ve let my mind drift with the thought of authoring a book and even tossed around some subjects and book titles.  For those of you who know me, I am a big believer in CLAIMING God’s promises to us.  I believe we should tell God very specifically what the desires of our heart are and not be fearful or ashamed.  He has made us these wonderful creatures in His image and as our Father, wants us to live our lives to the fullest in His glory.  So, during one of my claiming sessions with Him, I started to imagine what my future in literature might look like.  (Dream with me for a moment, if you will) Would what I have to say that would appeal to the general public?  What makes me any more worthy to write a book than any other 40-year-old housewife and mother?  My only answer to that would be that I feel His hand pushing me in that direction and I feel lead into obedience. 

Okay, so we’ve got the desire (we’ve claimed it out loud), we have some ideas on subject and book titles, we even have a modest stock pile of stories already written.  Here is my next thought- how in the WORLD would you market someone like me?  My initial thought is that I’d have to be a “Christian” writer… right?  God is the very essence of why I’m here and why I want to write, but there’s NO WAY I’m righteous enough for that!  I’m human and I’m flawed.  Sometimes my mouth speaks before I’ve had a chance to properly filter.  This is something I’m working on inwardly, but is still nonetheless a part of who I am- at least right now. 

See, when I think of current-day, female Christian authors the first name to immediately pop into my head is (I know you’re thinkin’ it…) Beth Moore.  I LOVE that woman!  I’ve been to see Beth on several occasions at various seminars and participated in many of her simulcast and taped Bible studies.  I hold her in such high esteem.  This woman knows the Word of God.  I mean, she’s ON IT!  Scriptures and their references just flow off of her tongue like honey.  She’s relatable and approachable.  Beth has the most wonderful stories of everyday God experiences that will bring tears to your eyes.  I’ve often said that I’d just like to go and hang with Beth or have coffee with her one day.  She seems like the type of woman you’d want in your inner circle.  (If you’ve attended her Bible study classes then you know EXACTLY what I’m talking about!)

I could never even E-VER (said out loud with 2 very drawn-out syllables) think of myself having a book that would be in the same SECTION as hers in a bookstore, much less sharing the same genre.  I’m about to tell you why.  Beth, I view as a holy woman.  I, on the other hand, would  have to be promoted as the “Christian” writer who sometimes accidentally says $#!+.  Do ya’ think Beth Moore ever accidentally says $#!+?!  I just don’t know.  I have difficulty imagining that Beth Moore could ever do anything so blatantly human.  Surely, sweet little Beth with her perfectly coiffed hair and immaculately put-together wardrobe would not be capable of uttering such ugliness.  But man, I do.  It’s not anything that I’m trying to boast about, it’s actually quite embarrassing.  I’m hoping you’ll understand that in my humanness I’ve been concerned that I wouldn’t be able to live up to what a proper Christian should be (author or not).  Then a lovely thing occurred to me…

It is specifically because of my humanness that the Lord came to this earth and gave His life for me.  In turn, it is my acceptance of Him which makes me worthy to receive the blessings He has in store for my life- my life with ALL of its flaws and weaknesses.  Although my journey here is a daily quest for righteousness, He knows my heart and He knows my intentions.  He, after all, is the Maker of this unholy-yet-through-Him-now-holy being. 

This being said, I don’t know if you’ll ever walk into a bookstore and find my book on a shelf.  I may have to be content with blogging and journaling my experiences for your and my private viewing.  I can tell you, however, that as long as I feel called by Him to write I will do so and will trust that He will lead me in whatever direction it is to take.  And friends,  if I’m ever fortunate enough to get to sit down for coffee with Beth Moore in some quaint little shop in some quaint little town- don’t you think for a second that I won’t ask her if she ever accidentally says $#!+.  Boy, will I have something to write about then!

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy Cazzell
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 01:04:44

    Amanda
    You are such a talented young woman. I’m so sad that I have
    missed those precious years from your teens until now but I cannot tell you how much I look forward to your blogs. They make me laugh but they also make me stop and think!! I would buy a book you wrote regardless of its subject just because I know it would be written from your heart and from the leading of the Father! I actually just got home from a Beth Moore Bible study (Living Beyond Yourself) and I am sure she would be the first to tell you she is no more holy than you and she would encourage you to follow your dream.

    Like

    Reply

    • mandaclair
      Feb 19, 2010 @ 06:55:29

      Kathy, thank you so-so-so much for this. I appreciate these sweet words. I have no doubt that Beth herself would be the first to admit she slips up now and then. That’s actually one of her characteristics which appeal to me most. She’s just like one of us. Human and flawed but loving the Lord boldly. I just adore her! 🙂

      Oh, and Kathy, if I do ever write a book and if it’s published, you’ll be receiving one of the first autographed copies!!!! (Had to leave a little leeway in there for mom and Jess. Wouldn’t want to be stepping on anyone’s toes!!!)

      Like

      Reply

  2. Pat Lenzini
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 10:30:42

    Dear Amanda, Love you so and I don’t really know you,but I feel like I know you more everyday through fb and your writings. You are real,you are human an everyday women,daughter,sister,wife,mother,friend and most importantly a sister in Christ!! Don’t give up your dream sister keep on keeping on!! I’ll be one of the first standing in line for a signed copy! Love You Pat (just wanted to add I’m one of those real flawed christians)

    Like

    Reply

    • mandaclair
      Feb 19, 2010 @ 10:35:11

      Pat, we may not have seen each other in years but I definitely feel like we’re close. I’m glad you do as well. Those AR friends from long ago will always hold a special place for my family. That was just such an untouchable time and an amazing era. Nothing could compare short of Heaven itself! 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  3. beth moore
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 11:03:16

    Now, Amanda…

    Like

    Reply

  4. Tony C
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 11:05:44

    You need to get of you %$# and write that book! lol

    We all fall short of His glory which makes His Grace so sweet.

    Here’s a little fodder to keep you motivated…

    http://www.writersdigest.com/article/how-to-build-a-marketing-platform/

    http://www.edcyz.com/five-great-things-that-dont-sell-lots-of-books-and-two-things-that-do/02/

    Like

    Reply

  5. June
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 13:05:51

    Amanda, loved this blog. I’m sure most of us have our little unbecoming words that we say when we are frustrated. I am truly thankful that I serve a Savior who knows that I am not perfect, and that I do have a human side until I reach my heavenly home. I would definitely buy your book if you had one published…(and yes, I want mine signed too)

    Like

    Reply

  6. Raelene plummer
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 13:50:32

    Amanda. I often remember things we did while you and your family served in Fort Smith. Truly they were special times. I I enjoy your blogging immensely. You have a very special gift and make ne laugh. Keep it up. Love you.

    Like

    Reply

    • mandaclair
      Feb 19, 2010 @ 23:08:36

      Oh, Raelene-

      My family can barely mention stories of “Ft. Smith” days without crying at some point. We were so blessed to have been in that place at that time.

      Thanks for reading. I’m so glad you enjoy. I will most assuredly keep it up!

      Like

      Reply

  7. Kelly S.
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 16:02:01

    LOL Just kidding 🙂 Jason R. calls us “Mooreites” LOL

    Great Post!

    Like

    Reply

  8. Jessica
    Feb 20, 2010 @ 16:29:27

    If not the title, at least a portion of your book has to be called NAME IT AND CLAIM IT! Or how about this: ONE of your books should be called that! Can I be the one who takes your photograph for the back cover of your books?

    Like

    Reply

    • mandaclair
      Feb 21, 2010 @ 20:44:00

      I am SO going to steal that name from you. I’ll list your name in my dedication, okay?! ;P

      And yes, you can be my photographer anytime. Just always remember these four words- from the waist up!!! hahaha!

      Like

      Reply

  9. stacey olmstead
    Feb 20, 2010 @ 22:14:13

    Ok…..do you think we might have “got it” by now? We have both certainly been through our share of s#$%! (I’m not sure how to spell it without spelling it) I believe I have learned the true meaning of breathing grace while at the same time walking in humility as the result of the muck and mire I have caused as the results of my past choices. God’s redemption and healing is unspeakable!

    Like

    Reply

    • mandaclair
      Feb 21, 2010 @ 20:46:38

      Stacey- this comment made me cry! Amen, sister! I do think I’ve finally gotten it this time! I hate that it took almost 40 years to get here, but better late than never I guess! I’ve spent my share of time walking in humility also… and strolling through stupidity… and meandering through mistakes…

      We serve an amazing God. We are truly blessed.

      Like

      Reply

  10. Shirley Ward
    Feb 23, 2010 @ 17:28:28

    Amanda, you tell the most amazing stories! Remember that Beth Moore is just as human as you are and I bet ten bucks she drops a pretty (yes, I call them “pretty words”) word now and again. I have always been one to believe that one can do whatever he/she puts her mind to. So go ahead and write that book. When it’s finished, I’ll trek right up to ROGSVEGAS to have my copy personally autographed!

    Like

    Reply

  11. Dawn MW
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 23:19:33

    Thats what I always liked about you, Amanda. You’re not afraid to be yourself, no matter what other people think! You love the Lord, but you dont hide behind religion and pretend to be perfect. If only all believers could stop trying to be perfect and just be real, the rest of the world wouldnt be so put off by us!

    Like

    Reply

  12. Donna Bailey
    Apr 07, 2010 @ 09:43:04

    Oh Amanda,would I just bet Beth Moore is just as human as we are!! Sure she throws the f..bomb out there on occasion..ok maybe not,I’m just sayin! Love reading your blogs girl!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

