The Purse Paradox

It is said that the eyes are the window to the soul.  If this holds true, I’m going to declare then that the purse must be the gateway to the psyche. 

I was noticing today that my house is fairly in order.  I’ve been working diligently toward having everything in its place to create an efficient, relaxing environment for my family.  My purse?… well, that’s another story.  On any given day if you were to need to find something in my bag, it would involve removing pages and pages of unnecessary papers- menus which my children have drawn upon and asked me to keep, a substitute teacher’s guide from the Rogersville City School, and countless receipts from various fast food places and the almighty Wal-Mart.  Today I simply needed to find my key.  This turned into a reconnaissance mission for which I was not at all prepared.

After wading through layers upon layers of papers, I then reached the “cosmetics” level.  This level is particularly confusing to me since I have an actual cosmetics bag designated for holding all articles of makeup in my purse.  I can only imagine that this cosmetics purgatory was created during those times of attempting to apply mascara/eye liner/lipstick in the rearview mirror while driving and then needing to quickly rid myself of all evidence of irresponsible driving and irresponsible time management.  I found several mascaras which I didn’t even know that I had and an uncapped, black eyeliner.  THAT’S always fun.  Nothing like eyeliner marks, or better yet eye shadow powder, staining the bottom of your purse.

When I finally made it to the bottom of my purse, or as I like to call it “ground zero”,  I had to fumble around blindly through plastic toys (thanks, kids), gum wrappers, coins of all denominations, some personal female items, and the most shocking of all- several packets of Chik-fil-A Polynesian sauce.  Amidst all of the chaos and confusion I found my key.  Thank the Lord!  Now I can use that key to get into my van- the same van, which in all honesty, is really just a bigger version of my purse.  It contains just as much unnecessary clutter as I’ve mentioned above.

So, in closing dear friends, aside from realizing that my purse and van both need a thorough cleaning, I’m realizing that my purse really is a reflection of who I am as a woman.  I’m a bit scattered and a bit disorganized, but I have all of the things important to me represented.  I could pull out each of those items and tell you a story attached to each one.  My family, my work, my friendships… it’s all right there in papers and notes and leftover items from dinners with friends.

In closing, I’d like to say that I sincerely believe that a clean home leads to a harmonious home.  Less stress equals fewer problems- at least I like to think this way.  So, I invite any of you at any time to come to my home.  You will hopefully find it somewhat organized and restful. My purse?… well, I have a feeling that will always remain a different story.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joline Moore
    Feb 17, 2010 @ 11:46:16

    You know what I am going to say, don’t you….If you kept the Butler….LOL

    Like

    Reply

  2. Kelley Price Harold
    Feb 17, 2010 @ 16:22:49

    I am glad I am not the only one! I personally can’t believe those Polynesian sauce packs were still intact, though. We love that stuff so whenever we have leftovers, I take it home. If it isn’t used fairly quickly, the top will actually lift off the plastic cup. I guess the adhesive stops working, which makes me wonder if we should be eating the sauce!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Jessica
    Feb 20, 2010 @ 16:35:25

    FYI, a drive through girl from chik-fil-a told me that their Polynesian sauce is really just Catalina dressing. Not sure I believe that, but it’s interesting! This blog was too funny! I laughed out loud! I soooo get the thing about the van being a bigger version of the purse! 2 tru, 2 tru!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

