The Blog Fog

I’m beginning to realize that having a blog comes with a certain amount of unforeseen stress.  Blogging is supposed to be an easy way to get out your inner-most thoughts and feelings and to share your opinions with others.  I get that, but am finding that throughout the day I’m wondering what I should write about next.  It’s a feeling I could liken to people becoming a new member on Facebook and constantly wondering how you can translate each and every action of your day into your “status”.  (Seriously, I’ve been there.  I know what it’s like to try to make each day’s menial chores “post-worthy”).

Blogging for yourself is one thing, but when you blog and know that other people may be reading, it puts things in a whole new light.  I find myself paying much more attention to details.  Not that this is a bad thing.  Don’t even get me started on the “spell check” aspect of things.  It would make your head spin.  It’s been so long since this old gal was in an English class.  I tend to write as I speak.  I try to fashion my punctuation in the same manner.  Spell check does not seem to enjoy or appreciate my creativity in the punctuation department.  My computer practically starts to smoke and I get little messages like, “are you kidding me?!” and “oh, just forget it!” 

I may have discussed what I am about to say in an earlier post, and if so, please forgive my repetition.  If I’ve not mentioned this before, I blame my lapse in memory on the aspartame found in Diet Coke.  I guess 22 years of putting that poison in my body has finally caught up with me.  Maybe when I finish this post I’ll spend a few days to begin focusing on my class-action lawsuit.  Any takers?… Anyway, I struggled in the beginning with even creating a blog.  I feel that it might be interpreted (or better, misinterpreted) as vanity.  I hate to think of someone sitting there thinking, “Who does she think SHE is?  Does she think what she has to say is so important?”  There may be some bloggers out there who feel that they have a message that must be shared with the masses.  I don’t necessarily subscribe to this line of thought. 

In all honesty I’m hoping that three things will come from this blog.  First, I’m hoping that a few of these stories may put a smile on someone’s face.  I know how important laughter is to me.  I think it is as imperative to good health as proper diet and exercise.  I wish laughter for everyone.  Imagine how wonderful it would be if at least once a day we were all fortunate enough to have a “from-the-depths-of-your-guts-I-think-I-just-peed-in-my-pants-a-little” kinda laugh.  I love the laughter that makes you lose all sense of control.  I’m talking snot-flying, face-contorting, doesn’t matter how loud you’re laughing kind of laughter.  That’s just the best.

Second, for as far back as I can remember I’ve wanted to be a writer.  I wrote as a child.  I wrote as a teen.  I wrote in college.  I’m still writing into adulthood.  I like to write humor as well as I like to write stories with substance.  I see this blog as good practice.  I’m accumulating stories.  Maybe, just maybe, one day God will bless me enough to see something come of it.  That’s one prayer I’ll gladly ride out.  I’m having so much fun along the way.

Third and finally is the most selfish reason of all- this is free therapy for me.  Much as a runner experiences a high after reaching that 5th or 6th mile of their feet pounding into the pavement, I feel such a high when I finish writing.  It’s like my soul takes a deep breath and then rests.  I need to do this.  I can’t imagine my life being any other way.

So friend, I want to make a commitment to each of you.  I promise not to waste your time with meaningless dribble.  I vow that I will not force myself to write, especially on days I’m experiencing a “blog fog”.  I know your time is important and I don’t ever want to be accused of wasting yours.  You have my word.

All of this to say, I’m not sure what to write about tonight….. hmmmmm……729 words later……..

We may be in trouble, folks.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. June Gladson
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 23:57:01

    Amanda, I got the link for your blog on Facebook, from your mother’s wall. Just wanted you to know that I enjoy your stories, very well written – and yes, you do bring a smile to my face everytime I read something you have written. (In fact, sometimes I am laughing out loud). Thank you!

    Like

    Reply

  2. mandaclair
    Feb 03, 2010 @ 00:03:10

    June, thank you so much for these sweet words. I hope you keep enjoying…

    Like

    Reply

  3. Sharon
    Feb 03, 2010 @ 00:34:22

    Amanda, I love reading your stories and I never find them a waste of my time….I love you sense of humor and just the things that you say…some people would literaly (sp) die to hear or read someone said snot…lol…but we all have it …. and it has to come out one way or the other and I would rather it come out in laughter…you keep going girl…the LORD has something in store for you and I feel that you are going to get a big blessing….if nothing else you sure have blessed me…not only with your readings and blogging but most of all with your friendship…thanks for being my friend…they are few and far between….with sisterly love in christ…

    Like

    Reply

    • Pat Lenzini
      Feb 03, 2010 @ 10:04:52

      Dear Amanda, You never bore me, I enjoy your writings so much. I pray for you and yours always. Love You Pat

      Like

      Reply

  4. Tony C
    Feb 04, 2010 @ 10:46:28

    Take it from a seasoned blogger, more people read than you think or may ever know. On a typical post over on Tony C Today, I get around 120 hits (unless it’s about Michael Jackson or New Agers which will add 50 or so and several nasty emails/comments). I’m not sure how accurate that number is either using Google Analytics to track. I know I have several readers in Nashville that never show up in the reporting.

    Anyway (sorry), just keep writing and sharing. If the day hasn’t already come, you will one day be in the grocery store or at the mall when someone walks up to you and lets you know how much they’re blessed by reading your blog. God is using your talent for His glory…let your light shine!

    Don’t let blogging stress you out. We all go through the ruts…just walk away for a few days. Nobody will think less of your blog, and you won’t feel pressure that results in subpar writing for your talent. Trust me on this one dear. When you feel the pressure to post but not the drive…just remember the famous words of Frankie Goes to Hollywood…relax, don’t do it!

    Love you bunches!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

