The Quiet Diet (a repost from 11/15/08)

During a wonderful Bible study last night which was lead by one of my most favorite people in this world, we discussed that as Christians we should put ourselves on a “Quiet Diet”.  Essentially, ridding ourselves of the extra NOISE in our lives and making a quiet space for God to dwell in and speak to us.

We were asked to name some of the things in our lives that create this noise, those unnecessary things which can occupy time that you should be spending focusing on and listening to God.  Things such as television, cell phones, computer games, Facebook (!), housework which needs to be done, all of the extra committees/projects that we get involved with, etc.

It was very eye-opening.  In all honesty, there have been many times that I would sit at the computer and play games or chat with friends, while knowing that I have about 6 thousand loads of laundry to do.  I rationalize that this is my time to “unwind”, but actually, I think it has become my excuse to escape.  Sometimes as a wife and mother of two very young children I feel like I deserve that break, but in reality, this should be the time I am MOST turning towards the Lord instead of creating barriers between us.

So, I am making a commitment to begin my Quiet Diet today.  I will limit my time on the computer, limit my NOISE, and focus on what is really important.  I will clean my house and create a pleasant environment for my husband to return to and for my children and myself to play in.  I will turn down all that noise.  I’m curious to hear what God may have to tell me.

Just something to think about.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joline
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 19:25:17

    so are you still doing this???

    Like

    Reply

  2. mandaclair
    Jan 23, 2010 @ 10:16:24

    I try very hard, Joline. We as Christians all know this to be true, but sometimes it is easier said than done. I can certainly tell the difference in the days when I do take the time to do my Bible study and the days that I do not.

    I have committed myself to doing a better job as both a wife and mother. This past year the Lord revealed many things to me about becoming more like the Proverbs 31 woman/wife. I don’t know that I will ever “select wool and flax and work with eager hands”- Proverbs 31:13 :), but I am concentrating on my family, our home, and my witness to others.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

