Running (a repost from 04/24/09)

I have very recently become a runner.  Okay, well more like a walker who will interject laps of running during specific intervals of walking.  Considering that I’ve not really run since college this has been a slow progression to say the least.

Day one consisted of putting on the clothes, getting the water bottle, going out to the track, and praying for about 30 minutes that God wouldn’t let me die alone at Rogersville City Park.  I did the 6 laps required to meet my one-mile goal and was quite happy with myself.  Day two was a bit better.  Then day three and so on.  I’m proud to say I’m up to an average of 4 miles per day- taking a day off only for these crazy torrential downpours that we’ve been having lately.

I have other friends who run.  One, in particular, likes to do her running through town.  I have another friend who runs on a treadmill.  For some reason, I have always preferred to run on a track.  I find some strange degree of comfort in knowing exactly how many miles I’ve gone and exactly where my destination point is.  I’m comfortable with the familiar scenery, as it is not a distraction.  It seems to give me my daily supply of much-needed alone time to think.

I started pondering the other day about how some people may think running on a track would be redundant or boring.  Sure, it’s fun to run through town where the scenery is always changing, but when some redneck in a camoflagued pickup truck honks and you jump so violently that your earphones pop out and your ipod falls to the ground, it becomes much less fun.

I’ve decided that I’m a person who likes to know where I’m going.  I thrive on having my goal in mind and achieving it.  When I get out to the track,  I know that I need to do exactly 24 laps to reach my goal.  I know exactly when I’m going to run and when I’m going to walk.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I’ll mix it up a bit while I’m out there.  Some laps I’ll throw in extra leg lifts or some arm exercises.  If you’re lucky enough, you may even see me bust out a few of my STELLAR dance moves when just the right Pink or Jon Bon Jovi song is in rotation. 🙂

I’m realizing that this is how I maneuver through my life as well.  With each lap I complete, I’m running closer to my goal.  Some of those laps have been very difficult.  Some of those laps have required me to call out to God for support, literally.  Certain laps, though, have brought feelings of joy and success.  Regardless of the initial pain or elation, with each pass I know I’m getting that much stronger and that much closer.  It brings a great feeling of peace and comfort, and although I don’t know exactly what my final destination is,  I know that this race (my life) is the only one I’ll get and I’m going to make the most of it.

I want whatever goal it is that God has in store for me.  Our God is a just God.  He doesn’t promise us and easy “run” here on this earth.  He does, however, instruct us that if we are faithful to Him, He will give us the strength we need.

Deuteronomy 7:9
“Know therefore that the Lord thy God, He is God, the faithful God, which keepeth covenant and mercy with them that love Him and keep His commandments to a thousand generations.”

I claim it. I’m gonna take that promise and run with it.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joline
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 21:38:23

    Your first try you did 1 mile??? Geez! I WALK (not run) and I can only do 3-4 laps before I am exhausted! I have been doing that off and on for a YEAR! WOW!

    Like

    Reply

  2. mandaclair
    Jan 23, 2010 @ 10:04:06

    Joline, if you’ll refer back to the beginning of this story, you will see that my “running” consists of walking interspersed with running. I walk a few laps and then run, then walk, then run… you get the picture? It only requires six miles to complete a lap, and yes, I did a mile that first day.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Brittany
    Jan 23, 2010 @ 14:11:28

    I think it is so great that you have started running! I did that same thing a few years ago. I couldn’t even run 2 laps around a track quickly without feeling like my lungs were going to collapse; but, one day I just said, I WILL DO THIS. And so I ran through the pain, and it sucked, but…it was so worth it! Eventually, before I got pregnant, there was a point at which I was running 6 mi 3-4 times a week.

    So, just to let you know…great job, and keep it up! Once you get past that point of excruciating exhaustion, you get to the place where you can achieve the runner’s high, and it’s awesome. I can’t wait until the baby gets here and I can start running again for that very reason. 🙂

    So, keep up the good work! Maybe we can run together sometime when I am down in Rogersville and catch up.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

