My New Year’s Revolution- Yes, I Said “Revolution” (a repost from 1/02/09)

For the past two days I’ve had countless conversations with countless friends sharing 2009 New Years resolutions.  Resolutions that each of us know (way deep down) won’t last much past the packing away of the Christmas decorations.

Well, I’ve decided to do things a bit differently this year.  Instead of making a list of resolutions that I don’t intend to keep, I’m making my first ever New Years revolution.  I pondered for a bit the different meanings of the word “revolution” and have settled on two which fit my intentions quite nicely.

I, Amanda Silvers, am entering 2009 with the anticipation of a revolution- an uprising, shall we say, of my soul and spirit, which seem to have taken a leave of absence the last 6 months of 2008.  Some of us feel victorious coming out of 2008 and others feel like we’re pulling ourselves across that finish line battled and bruised from unfortunate, unforeseen events.  I am challenging myself in 2009 to have a revolution of the soul.  I’m going to stop making excuses for myself (my situation) and realize that I serve a risen King who is able to move mountains.  Surely my small circumstances aren’t too much for the Almighty to handle!  I know He cares about me and I know He wants what is best for me…whatever that may be.  My revolution starts today and will be an ongoing uprising with each new day that passes.  I feel that I’ve been training for this battle all of my life and am ready to come out victorious in Jesus’ name.

Another interesting definition of “revolution” involves a cycle, or going in circles…a turning around.  That is exactly what I would like my 2009 to become.  I need to turn around. I need a “do over” (for you, Tracey).  Life is fragile and it is fleeting.  The world throws enough slings and arrows at us that it just doesn’t seem fair that we are having to dodge slings and arrows coming at us from our own loved ones, does it?  Let’s love like we are supposed to.  Let’s live like we are supposed to.  Let’s respect our fellow man (and woman) and make this our best year yet.

I invite anyone who would like to participate in my revolution to join me.  If I have no joiners I’ll be more than willing to take this step in faith.  I know that as a child of the King I am never truly alone.  It may feel that way at times; but that sweet breath of life that keeps breathing into my nostrils, and that sweet sound of laughter that I hear from my children are motivation enough to keep me marching.  I’m marching boldly into 2009 and am claiming victory for the year to come.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Hannan
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 23:59:12

    I’m with ya sister!

    Like

    Reply

  2. mandaclair
    Jan 23, 2010 @ 10:06:59

    Susan, I’m planning to write an addendum to this story considering 2009 turned out to be without a doubt the single-most difficult year of my life. It’s interesting that right now (going into the very beginning of 2010) I feel like I’ve come almost full circle. Meaning: I started the 2009 year off totally invigorated, then beaten down almost that entire year, and now a year later TOTALLY feeling HIS blessings like I never have. Interesting.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

