Be Still (a repost from 6/13/09)

My life journey is about to take me into completely unchartered territory.  It’s funny, how after 39 years, I still am amazed at how quickly circumstances can change.  Sometimes things, situations, people, and places that you count on everyday to be a constant, don’t always remain constant.  It’s a lesson God has been revealing to me throughout my life, but (unfortunately) a lesson that I still haven’t quite mastered.  Quite frankly, I think it’s one that I’ve been afraid of mastering.  I’m not a lover of change.  Small changes, okay, but the big life-changing events… please let me pour myself a drink and have a seat first.

There are a few precious things in life that I know for certain.  The first of those is that God loves me and has unconditional love for me, and all His children.  This is a constant.  I know that I can come to Him and crawl up into His lap, and cry to Him and He hears me.  This is a constant.  I also know that He is continually trying to speak to me.  This is a constant.  I just have to learn to be still and listen.

Psalms 46:10- “Be still and know that I am God.”

For any of you who know me, you’ve probably guessed that the “being still” portion of this verse is the part that always seems to bring me the most difficulty.  I’m a fairly busy person with a fairly loud personality.  As the mother of a 4 and 5 year old, I don’t often have moments of stillness.

Anyone who is a mother (or father) can attest, it is easy to get muddled down in the everyday living portion of LIFE.  School, soccer practices, doctors appointments, church, birthday parties, and all of the running here and there can certainly be a distraction.  This doesn’t even include the “She hit me so I shoved a Lincoln log into her nose.” or the “Mama, if Eli wrote on the wall in black crayon is he going to get into trouble?” scenerios that are an everyday part of my life.

“Be still and know that I am God.”

Well, today is the day of reckoning for me, and I am giving in 100% to being still.  As with any new habit, I’m sure this is one that I will gradually grow into.  It’s so easy as a Christian to say, “Yes, God is in control. No, we shouldn’t worry.”  I would dare say that most people, like myself, have a bit of trouble giving up that control.  It’s a bit like driving your car 80 mph down the highway and throwing up your hands. (Please insert the “Jesus Take the Wheel” song by Carrie Underwood here.)  However, if we SAY we trust HIM, don’t we owe it to HIM to give HIM that control?

So, I’m doing it.  Amanda’s hands are off the wheel.  I’ve had 39 years of doing it my way and this path that I find myself on is not what I ever expected.  It is, however, what I created through my own stubborn (human) decision-making process.

I am looking forward with great anticipation to what God has in store for this life that I am handing right back to Him.  I thank you, God, for your patience with me.  I thank you for another chance.

I have learned my lesson.  Your child is being still and is looking forward to the conversation to come.

Leave a Reply

