Oh, The Pressure of a Name

I am new to blogging.  I still remember the days when “blogging” was referred to simply as “writing”.  🙂  I’ve been a little confused, quite honestly, about the whole concept of blogging.  Don’t get me wrong, I love to write.  Writing has always been therapeutic for me, even in childhood.

I was about 7 years old when our family dog, Muffin, was hit by a car.  I can very specifically remember composing a little song for her that I would sing when I would walk out onto my parent’s balcony.  It was very “Romeo and Juliet”.  I would go to the balcony in my sorrow and sing my heart out to Muffin.  Telling her how much we loved her and how I wished we lived in a world where tires could be made of cotton (keep in mind now, I was only 7, ok?).  Writing out feelings and thoughts has always been my go-to way of dealing with issues and situations.  I’m not really a “keep it bottled in” kinda gal.  Ask anyone who knows me.  My mother has always said that I’ve never had an emotion I didn’t express.  This is true. 

I’ve been hesitant to start a blog because I’ve been fearful that blogging may sometimes be interpreted as self-inflatedness.  Now let me explain… if I’m going to take the time to blog it is going to be a conglomeration of stories and lessons and anecdotes from my life, my perspective.  After all, this is the only viewpoint I have.  I’ve lived a very interesting life thus far and do feel that I have things to share.  Maybe someone reading one of my entries will smile or laugh and have their day brightened just a bit.  Maybe someone reading one of my entries can draw from my personal experiences and learn not to make the same mistakes in their own lives.  More importantly, maybe someone will find healing and be repaired when they read about the restorative powers of Jesus Christ in my life and all of the miracles I’ve seen Him do.  I hope this blog will serve all of these purposes. 

So, when I finally did decide to start this blog I had no idea the can of worms I was about to open.  I found my blog spot location easily thanks to BFF and fellow blogger, Kelli.  Kelli is a pro at blogging.  She will probably rue the day that she even told me she had a blog after all of the questions I’m sure I’ll be hounding her with over the next few weeks.  Once the spot was found I had to chose my layout.  WordPress is nice enough to give you almost 80 different backgrounds to chose from, so I spent a good portion of my day attempting to locate the layout which I felt best represents me.  Since they didn’t have one of a woman pondering life while drinking a Diet Coke with two small children attached to each of her legs, I chose the format you currently see.  It’s called, “Rounded”.  I found the colors soothing and something about the name made me feel… well… well-rounded. 

Then it’s time for the ultimate pressure- naming your blog.  I hadn’t even thought about this part of the process.  I had been too engrossed in all of the other prep work for this site.  A name… a name…. that’s a very important part of your blog.  The name can tell people in just a word or two what your blog contains.  “All Things Elvis”, for example, would leave little question as to what is being discussed in that particular blog.  When you are planning to blog about your life, however, finding a name to cover such a vast expanse of topics can be challenging.  I went through a few in my head- “mysocalledlife” (but then didn’t want to name it after an 80’s tv show), “Mandaclair’s Blog” (too vanilla), and then it hit me.  The word “wonderland” kept going through my head, but not for reasons you may think. 

When I hear the word “wonderland” I immediately think of Alice falling down the rabbit hole and finding herself in a crazy, mixed-up fantasy land.  Although that does sounds eerily reminiscent of sections of my life, I have lived enough to know that life is not a fantasy; but very much a reality and that the reality of life can be harsh at times.  My life, as I’m sure has yours, has been peppered with moments of immeasurable bliss and excruciating sorrow.  So, my “wonderland” comes from a different perspective.  Really, more of a “wonderment”.  I have always enjoyed analyzing things.  Anything really.  I love to analyze people, conversations, feelings, decisions… you name it.  I could probably analyze your grocery list for you if you’d like.  I’ve always taken a great deal of pleasure in attempting to figure out the “why” of life.  So, Manda’s Wonderland is simply a collection of my analyzing, my wonderings.

Maybe one day I’ll change the name to Manda’s Wonderment, but for now, I’m keeping my wonderland.  So, put on your jacket and let’s go searching for our rabbit hole.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TracEy
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 17:21:16

    You analytical? Nah.

    Like

    Reply

  2. mandaclair
    Jan 23, 2010 @ 10:19:28

    Zip it, Lynch!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

